Time: How Do We Spend It?

Quality of life seems to be an important thing today. We consider the economy, our job opportunities, and our retirement accounts and worry about the quality of life they can provide and whether my life is keeping up with every one else.

We first need to realize that true quality of life begins with a relationship with Jesus Christ. Jesus said, “I have come that they may have life, and have to the full” (John 10:10). So that means God is going to bless me with material things if I have faith in Him? Not quite. God imparts love, joy, peace, and the other blessings that contribute to my overall quality of life. It’s not determined by the amount of money, power, and possessions we have but the relationships we have with Him and others. It’s found in the opportunities God gives us to serve and grow.

So how do we achieve that high-quality life even without the material trappings of this world? We must use our time and God given opportunities to seek out those things that are of the highest value. I personally find that in a productive day at work, a Saturday afternoon spent doing something fun with my family, and a secretly planned daddy/daughter date with my daughter. I find it in good conversation over a cup of coffee with my wife, a hike in the woods enjoying God’s creation, and a Sunday morning spent worshipping God with other believers. These things and many more help to contribute to my quality of life. If we will follow Paul’s advice in Philippians 4:8 to think on things that are noble, right, lovely, admirable, excellent, or praiseworthy, “God will meet all of our needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus” (Phil. 4:19).

Having my needs met by God Himself? Sounds like a good quality of life to me.

-Joe

One thought on “Time: How Do We Spend It?

  1. Steven

    Great point of view Joe! We need to “invest” in our spiritual needs because God has already made a place for us in Heaven that far outweighs any material blessing we could ever receive on this earth.

Leave a Reply

