So You Have Plans?

So you have plans?  Don’t we all.  If you’re anything like me, then you know what it’s like to be a planner.  Don’t get me wrong…I like to take things as they come every now and then, but for the most part, I have big plans for how things will turn out.  And there’s nothing wrong with planning.  If I didn’t plan for retirement one day, I’d never get there.  If I didn’t plan my workouts weekly, I would never make any progress.  But more often than not, my plans, and most likely yours, do not take into account what God wants with our lives.

Everything in my life, my gifts, my talents, experiences, and knowledge all work together to make me who I am.  No one else has been me or can ever be me (which is a good thing because two Joe’s may be more than the world can handle).  So since I’m uniquely made, it makes sense that there are things that God intends for me and only me to do with my life.  Call it purpose or whatever, but God has a plan for my life.  How much do His plans and my plans overlap?  Am I even aware of His plans or am I too busy chasing my own desires to even notice?

Isaiah 55:8-9 says, “‘For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,’ declares the Lord.  ‘As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.'”

When some read this verse, they think it sounds a little harsh.  But I think God is trying to tell us something very important here.  It’s not that He isn’t concerned with our desires.  Those desires just need to match up with His plan.  God has a hindsight and foreknowledge that I do not possess.  He sees the big picture because He created me.  He purposefully opens doors for me that enable me to complete His plan, and He closes doors so I will not head in the wrong direction.

When it’s time to make decisions and create plans for the future, listen for God’s voice.  Listen to His plan.  Something tells me you won’t regret it.

-Joe

Leave a Reply

