Call Me Blessed!

Valentine’s Day.  Our national day of love.  For some, it’s a reminder of what they don’t have; for some a reminder of what they do have.  I definitely fall into the latter category.  Love for me is comfort, compassion, and teamwork.  It’s grace, forgiveness, and friendship.  But most importantly, it’s walking together with someone who loves God, who wants to go to heaven, and who wants to help their family get there too.  You can probably tell from my words that I’m quite happy this Valentine’s Day because my beautiful, wonderful wife Keri reminds me of all these things.  She embodies all that Proverbs 31:10-31 speaks about…a wife of noble character.

vs. 10-“A wife of noble character who can find?  She is worth far more than rubies.”  (Keri is more valuable than I could count.)

vs. 11-“Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value.” (I have full confidence and trust in my bride.)

vs. 12-“She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life.” (Keri brings joy and happiness to our marriage and household.)

vs. 26-“She speaks with wisdom and faithful instruction is on her tongue.” (She is wise and intelligent in her dealings with family and others.)

vs. 27-“She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.” (Keri is not lazy but diligently works to make life easier for me and for our marriage.)

vs. 28-“Her children rise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her.” (She is easy to praise because she is so deserving of it.)

vs. 30-“Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.” (She truly loves God and helps to make my love for Him grow as well.)

Of course, I could go on forever praising Keri for her love and devotion, but more importantly, I can love and lead her and my family with the love God shows us every day.  And in doing so, I not only get closer to her, but closer to God too.

Happy Valentine’s Day!!!

 

-Joe

 

Leave a Reply

