Things That I Love: Part 1 (God)

This is a new series of posts I’m going to write about things that I love.  We all have things that we really enjoy, things that we are passionate about and that drive us.  What better way to start these posts than to begin with the one who should matter most in my life…God.

I will be upfront and honest here by admitting that I don’t love God as much as I know I should.  I struggle daily with selfishness and continually put my needs and desires ahead of God.  But I can humbly say that I do love God and seek to serve and better understand Him each day.  I have been a Christian for 26 years now and I can see a distinct change in my love for God over the years.  Truthfully speaking, I didn’t much care for God or church for many years, blindingly attending because it’s what I always had done.  Then I realized I was truly wasting my time if I wouldn’t completely commit my life to God and learn to love and understand Him better.  There was no specific decision or time when this happened except that I allowed my heart to be more open and receptive to God and my place in His plan.  Now, I’m beginning to love going to worship; to be with others who are seeking after God like I am.  I’m much more inclined to shun inappropriate things of the world and act and think on things that are pure and holy.  The best part, though, is the realization that I didn’t do any of this myself.  It was God working in my heart after I finally decided to give all of it to Him.  Which is an encouraging thought for me or anyone else.  It means that as long as I or you or anyone seeks after Him with all our heart, mind, soul, and strength, He will walk alongside us and make His home within our hearts.  What’s not to love about that?

-Joe

One thought on “Things That I Love: Part 1 (God)

  1. The True Light!

    We have had a number of similar spiritual experiences, Joe. I too have had times when a new appreciation for something about God or fellowship has come to me. I also have had occasions when some sin in my life, has hit me…out of the clear blue; like a ton of bricks!

    Usually, I had been asking the Lord for more purity or to be closer to Him! The prayers would go up, but the answers wouldn’t come down. And then…boom!

    The God of all knows just the right thing to do for us, at exactly the right time, to enrich our hearts and minds. All things do work together for good for those who love the Lord.

    The True Light

Leave a Reply

