Things That I Love: Part 2 (Family)

I had an eye-opener in one of my previous jobs that reminded me of how important family should be.  At the time, I was about 26 years of age, newly married, and without children.  My boss, almost 20 years my senior, came into work very upset one day.  I’m not sure why he felt comfortable asking me, but he pleaded for advice concerning his 17-year-old daughter.  It seems that she had been in a lot of trouble recently and was now having to deal with the law over one her newest mistakes.  Interestingly, my boss had not taken much interest in his daughter or wife over the years and he was now dealing with the fruits of his inattention.  Before I had really started a family of my own, I was receiving a lesson in the level of commitment required to enjoy a happy family.

I guess I can say that I’m a family man now.  I relish the title of husband and father more than any other title I hold.  There will never be a job more important than the job of raising and playing with my daughter.  No activity is more valuable than being my wife’s leader, lover, and best friend.  I wish more men would look at their families as the true blessing from God that they are.  And I say men, because that was God’s plan all along…for the man to spiritually, emotionally, and physically lead his family always with the guidance of the Creator who made our families in the first place.

Sad to say that I found out that my old boss from that job is now divorced.  I heard that his daughter was pregnant out-of-wedlock.  I wonder.  If he had been home more and not so dedicated to work, would it have made a difference?  Likely so.  On my part, I will continue to love my family with every ounce of my being and trust God to help me lead them in the best way possible.  Just like Paul said in I Corinthians 13:8…”Love never fails!”

-Joe

Leave a Reply

