The Daily Grind

As you can see from the date on my previous post, it has been some time since I have written anything on here.  Almost four months to be exact.  I was asked several weeks ago by a follower of this blog why they haven’t heard from me on here in a while and I didn’t really have an answer.  I guess life just got in the way.  Which is not to say that things are bad but that it’s so easy to allow the grind of daily life to creep in and prevent me from doing things that are beneficial to me and those around me.

Sometimes we all allow the burdens and responsibilities of our lives to keep us from God, or at least keep us from a close, intimate relationship with Him.  During times like these, even though it may feel counterproductive, I try to slow down and read my Bible more.  One passage that comes to mind is Matt. 11:28-30 which says, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”  God can take my stresses and make them seem small when I’m busy serving Him.  Speaking of serving God, that should be our main goal, one which takes precedence over our daily duties of life.  Phillipians 3:13-14 says, “Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”  John reminds us in 1 John 2:15-17, “Do not love the world or anything in the world.  If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him.  For everything in the world- the cravings of sinful man, the lust of the eyes and the boasting of what he has and does- comes not from the Father but from the world.  The world and its desires pass away, but the man who does the will of God lives forever.”

And so we press on.  Not with the goal of accumulating more worldly things or looking forward to the easy life in retirement.  No, we press on towards the goal of Heaven, and the joy of being with God forever.

-Joe

Leave a Reply

