Sowing and Reaping

One interesting and often misunderstood principle of God is the idea of sowing and reaping.  Some may call it “karma” or “paying it forward” or “you get what you deserve,” but regardless of what it’s called, it is a principle laid down by God for the benefit of us and others.  The bad part is the idea that sowing and reaping works for both the good and the bad.  When we sow discord, anger, and apathy, those attributes are returned to us as well.  I’ve wondered at times in my life why I’ve had to struggle or face difficulties in my relationships or career, but upon further examination, I find out that I’m reaping what I’ve sown.

The good news is when I sow seeds of love, forgiveness, and generosity, God makes sure those are returned to me many times over.  I’ve grown to realize that, although many believe this principle applies to money, it is best manifested among good Christian graces as those mentioned above.  The key is to sow, not with the expectation of return as if God owes me something, but with an attitude of grace and gratitude for all that God has done for me.  And when I show God’s grace to others, He makes sure I’m well taken care of.

Read the following verses during your next Bible study time and learn of God’s great promises regarding sowing and reaping in your life. (Malachi 3:10, Luke 6:38, II Corinthians 9:6-8, Galations 6:7-10)

-Joe

Leave a Reply

