Finding Wisdom in Rebuke

 

I think it’s fair to say that no one likes to be told they are wrong or that their actions are inappropriate.  And yet there is much wisdom to gain from a loving rebuke.  I had this brought home to me today when I was kindly yet firmly rebuked by my wife.  Now, before judgement is placed, we should be reminded that we are commanded to admonish one another, especially within the confines of our marriages.  Paul, speaking to the church at Colosse, reminds Christians to, “Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom”  (Col. 3:16).  My wife Keri and I try to live according to how God would have us live and we look out for each other and our souls.

Keri came home from work to find me doing my workout in the garage.  I occasionally will play music while I lift weights and this day she found me listening to an old rock CD that I used to listen to.  As with most secular rock music today, it was filled with vulgar language and anger.  I suppose that I could easily excuse it as good, fast music to listen to while exercising.  Or even worse, I could write it off as not able to affect me or that I don’t really listen to the lyrics.  The truth is, it does enter my heart and affect me in insidious ways.  After Keri told me that I should turn it off, that a Christian shouldn’t listen to such disgusting music, I thought about getting mad.  Who’s to tell me what I can and can’t listen to?  But her kind rebuke was correct. It was rooted in love and a desire for me to serve my Lord and be a good example for my family.

I tell this short story here to encourage others to be open to rebuke.  Be willing to hear the truth from God’s word through the admonishment of another Christian.  It is in these times that much growing happens and, in my case, the realization that I’m very blessed to have a God-fearing wife willing to love me enough to show me when I’m wrong.  (Read also 2Tim. 3:16 and 2Tim. 4:2).

-Joe

Leave a Reply

