There Is A Place In Me

I have always found it hard when speaking to others about my Christian beliefs to explain the peace that I have in Christ Jesus.  When things are difficult or I don’t understand the reasons for an event in my life, I’m able to find solace in my God who knows the challenges that I face.  Philippians 4:6-7 reminds me to “not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”.

The key is that my heart and mind are guarded by Jesus himself.  He has promised to make a dwelling place within me and so I have the peace of God with me at all times.  I ran across a poem that expresses this sentiment so I will share that here as an ending to this post for today.

There Is A Place In Me

 

There is a place in me that no one knows about.

There is a place in me, in which there is no doubt,

No guilt, no sin, no shame, no bitterness, no fear…

There is a place in me where God speaks loud and clear.

 

When in the outside world I hear of greed and lust, 

In that place of silence He speaks to me of trust,

He speaks of love and forgiveness, of tolerance…

In that place of silence, I find deliverance.

 

I have searched all my life for a place to be free,

Only to find it here, buried inside of me.

(Francois- Marie Benard)

-Joe

Leave a Reply

