What Is the Christian Life…A Life of Worship

My last post dealt with living a life of faith.  Today I’ll focus on a life of worship.  There seems to be a large debate today among some Christians as to whether or not it is necessary to worship corporately with a body of believers. I think most agree that they should attend church, but many Christians treat church attendance and worship as a box to check off.  Some attend every service and function the church puts on but have little heart for what they are doing.  Jesus had other ideas of what a true worshipper looks like.  While speaking to the Samaritan woman in John 4: 23-24, he says, ” a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipper will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for they are the kind of worshippers the Father seeks.  God is spirit, and his worshippers must worship in spirit and in truth.”

God doesn’t “need” our worship and yet he commands us to do it anyway.  So it seems he would have us worship for the knowledge we gain of him and the contact we make with other Christians in our effort to lift up praise to our God who we love.  Like the writer in Psalms 27:4 says, we should WANT to be with God.  He says, “One thing I ask of the Lord, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord.”  I must ask myself then… Do I love God enough to want to spend all of my time with him?  That’s what eternity in heaven will be like isn’t it?

-Joe

Leave a Reply

