What is the Christian Life…A Life of Study

Most of us who are already out of formal schooling remember the idea of studying.  I can recall countless nights in highschool and college when I sat up late pouring over notes for a test the next day.  While I don’t remember those times with a fond memory, I now love to study and learn new things.  I’m constantly reading books and seeking ways to learn about the world around me.  I have a special love for the study of God’s word and what it means in my Christian walk and my knowledge of God.  There are many passages of scripture that focus on our love and study of God’s word and I will share some of my favorites that have taught me the value of God’s wisdom.

Psalms 119:9- “How can a young person stay on the path of purity?  By living according to your word.”

Psalms 119:11- “I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.”

Psalms 119:105- “Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.”

Hebrews 4:12- “For the word of God is alive and active.  Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.”

These are just some examples of the power and wonder of God’s word and how it can affect our lives and souls.  I hope these passages encourage you to make the study of God’s word a daily part of your life.

-Joe

Leave a Reply

