What is the Christian Life… A Life of Influence

“Actions speak louder than words.”  Have you ever heard that phrase before?  I would bet most people have, and I would also bet that most people agree. I can tell my wife Keri I love her all day, but I must back it up with actions for her take those words seriously. I can promise my boss that I’ll have some paperwork turned in by Friday, but  if I miss my deadline, he may lose trust in me, regardless of what words I use in my defense.

The same can be said of being a Christian. I can publicly proclaim that name and attend every church service and event and write wonderful things on this blog, but unless I put these words into practice, no one will take God or me seriously. As 1 Corinthians 13:1 says, “If I speak in tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal.”

So back to the phrase “actions speak louder than words.”  What is the most effective way to be a good influence for Christ?  Simply put…let your light shine!  “You are the light of the world.  A city on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven” (Matthew 5:14-16).

One very important thing about being a light.  It is the presence of Christ and the Holy Spirit within us that shines. We are simply to be a vessel to carry that light to the world. When we shine, it is not us that the world sees but God’s love manifested through our actions. Remember…actions speak louder than words. To be a good influence, don’t just speak about Christ, act like him too.

-Joe

One thought on “What is the Christian Life… A Life of Influence

  1. The True Light!

    I agree with this completely. A favorite saying of mine says: “Always preach a Godly lesson. When necessary, use words!”

    Good post, Joe…

    TTL

Leave a Reply

