What Do You Owe?

For several years now, I have been paying down the mortgage on my house. It’s pretty much the only debt I have left.  My wife and I have paid off both of our cars, we have no credit card or student loan payments, and we are cautious about how we spend on new purchases. Sounds great right?  Debt-free living!  But in reality, I owe a debt far more serious than a loan payment. It’s the payment for my sins, my transgressions against God. And that debt must be paid.

But unbeknownst to me, without any pleading or demanding, Jesus has paid my debt. He took my sins and yours and nailed them to the cross, paying the price that we were meant to pay. “For the wages of sin is death”  (Romans 6:23).  We deserved to pay the penalty of death, but Jesus paid it for us. Through the unfathomable grace of God, our sin has been forgiven. “I, even I, am he who blots out your transgressions, for my own sake, and remembers your sin no more.” (Isaiah 43:25).

So what do you owe?  Well that depends on how we receive God’s gift. If you believe in Jesus (Acts 16:31), confess him (Romans 10:9), repent of your past sins (Acts 3:19), are baptized (Romans 6:3-6), and continue to obey God (1 John 5:3), you will reap an eternal reward (Romans 6:22).  If you disregard God’s good and precious gift of forgiveness and deny acceptance of Jesus’ payment, then the debt must still be paid, only it must be paid by you for eternity. In other words, what do we owe God?

We owe him everything!

-Joe

One thought on “What Do You Owe?

  1. The True Light!

    A well written post, my friend! So many people talk about living debt free, especially as they near the age of retirement from the work-a-day world.

    But the truth is, Jesus’ sacrifice can never be repaid as you’ve said here. However, as we go along reaping the benefits of the love God, through Jesus Christ, gives us, the “debt” we cannot repay seems more like the blessing we cannot fathom!

    Great work here, my brother!

    The True Light

Leave a Reply

