I Love Being Me

I love being me. I know, I know. Kind of sounds like I’m a little full of myself, but let me explain. I love the life that I’ve been blessed with. And no, it hasn’t all been good. In fairness though, I’ve had far more good than bad. I love the experiences I’ve had in life. I’ve so far enjoyed the many adventures and trials I’ve been a part of.  I’m part of a wonderful family. My parents and siblings have been a blessing beyond compare. My wife and daughter are more special than a man could ever wish for. I have very rewarding friendships with good Christian families. I’m challenged daily with a job as a teacher that brings me much praise and satisfaction. I love, when given the opportunity, to preach God’s word at my church and at others I’ve been blessed to speak.

My family and I
My family and I

But before you think that I’m narcissistic, understand, I really don’t like me sometimes.   I mess up. I deceive. I lie. I sin. I’m not necessarily proud of the man I see in the mirror every day. But I humbly admit that I’m happy with what I’m becoming. You see, I’m a work in progress. I take great hope and comfort in Galatians 2:20. “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”  

I love being me. But I love Christ living in me more. I love the idea of him working on me and making me less about myself and more about him. I love and honor the fact that he gave himself for me, a person with many faults. God sees the potential in me even if no one else can.

So I will always love who I am.  I am a child of the most high God, created in his likeness to do one very important thing… Die to self and live for Him!

-Joe

2 thoughts on “I Love Being Me

  1. butlercreativewp

    Great post Joe. I think we all should be able to look in the mirror and feel much of what you feel. It’s good to know that the reflection is changing daily and that is because Christ lives within us!

    1. Joe Butler

      Thanks Steve. It’s all about reflecting Jesus to the world. I want the world to praise him through the way I live my life.

Leave a Reply

