Wake Up!

Are you fully awake?  Well I suppose if you’re reading this right now you would answer yes. But I don’t just mean awake. I mean fully aware, completely engaged in the world around you and the events that are taking place. We’ve all zoned out at one time or another. At work, at home, at church. We operate at times on autopilot, going through the motions of life, completely unaware of the joyful things around us.

image

 

Sadly, many Christians walk through their spiritual life on autopilot.  Worship begins to be a chore but it’s what we do so we continue to go. Suddenly, doing anything Godly requires a tremendous amount of effort with a little complaining thrown in for good measure.  Churches around the world, and especially in America, are filled with self-professing Christians going through the motions, looking the part but not really having a deep-seated love for God. The bible actually warns us of this very thing in Revelations 3:1-3. Speaking to the church at Sardis it says, “These are the words of him who holds the seven spirits of God and the seven stars. I know your deeds; you have a reputation of being alive, but you are dead. Wake up!  Strengthen what remains and is about to die, for I have not found your deeds complete in the sight of my God. Remember, therefore, what you have received and heard; obey it, and repent. But if you do not wake up, I will come like a thief, and you will not know at what time I will come to you.”

The Christians of this church, like many today, appeared alive but were really dead. They needed a serious wake up call. And let’s be honest…so do we!  God is tired of some of our half-hearted attempts to please him. He’s sad that he is usually not our first love. But there is hope. We are reminded, through the words to the church at Sardis, to strengthen ourselves. The initial fire of our love for God may not blaze high but it still flickers. It’s still alive, in some of us, just barely. But it’s enough for God to work with, if we’ll only obey.

The churches of the first century needed a revolution, a rallying cry to get going and the same is needed today. Let us stoke the flames of love for our Almighty God before it’s too late. It’s time to wake up!

-Joe

2 thoughts on “Wake Up!

  1. I think this is one reason I’m not attending a church right now. Of all the churches I’ve visited while looking for a place to land, I find too much routine. For me, routine is dead. Cheerio

  2. Joe Butler

    Thank you for your honesty. I absolutely love to go to worship, but truthfully, there are many there that are just going through the motions. I try to remember two things though that keep my focus on God. First, we are all sinners, and I know at times that I do not give everything that I am to God. Second, I refuse to allow the lack of excitement in others to steal my joy for God. Worship is truly what you make of it and ultimately it’s all for the glory of God.

Leave a Reply

