Quitting is Your Only Option

Quitters never win right?  At least that’s what we’ve always heard.  “You’re a Quitter!” is the last thing we want screamed in our direction.  I’ve quit on a few things in my life.  Things that I started on and never finished.  Instances where it just got too hard to carry on.  In each case, I felt terrible about giving up.  I felt like a failure, a complete and utter let-down to myself and everyone around me.  So it goes without saying that quitting has a very negative connotation.  It’s not a character trait anyone wishes to adopt.  But today, I’m going to ask you to do just that.  I’m asking you to be a quitter!

quitting

I can already see the quizzical looks and hear the whispered, “What?, Did he just ask me to be a quitter?”  Well actually, I’m not asking you….. God is!  To God, quitting is your only option.  It is, at least, if you want to be fully surrendered to him.  You see, God, in his infinite wisdom, already knows there are many things in our lives that we simply cannot solve.  There are many challenges that we attempt to face on our own, and in doing so, fail miserably.  That’s why he gave us the church and the Holy Spirit.  It’s why he promised us in Deuteronomy 31:6 that he will never leave nor forsake us.  He knows that life can be hard.  He knows that at times you just want to quit.

In fact, he’s asking for you to quit.  Quit trying to do things on your own.  Quit beating yourself up over insecurities and past mistakes.  He’s waiting for the moment when we pray, “God, I can’t do this anymore.  I quit!”  His response is quite simple.  He says, “I’ve been waiting to hear that.  I have quietly waited here for you to throw away your worries and your plans.  I’ve patiently waited for the opportunity to be your guide.  Relax, I’ll take it from here.”

“Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous fall” (Psalm 55:22).

“Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.  Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you” (1 Peter 5:6-7).

It’s during this kind of surrender that God can really work in our lives.  But he can only do it if we’re willing to quit and give it all over to him.

-Joe

 

6 thoughts on “Quitting is Your Only Option

  1. The True Light!

    Excellent as always, Joe! When we are baptized into Christ, we put away, (quit), the old ways of sin, and begin a new life in Him. Quitting is required; we can not continue to live as we did before giving our lives to Christ.

    Very clever post…and so true!

    The True Light

Leave a Reply

