Home, Sweet, Home!

There’s just something about home isn’t there?  For most, it’s a place of comfort, of normalcy, a place to rest and relax. I love to travel, but I love to come home too.  To sleep in my own bed, to raid the kitchen pantry whenever I want. (That last part is entirely true. I’ve been known to sneak around like a little rat looking for food at all hours of the day.)  Sadly, some of us do not have fond feelings for home. Home is where fights happen or drug abuse occurs. For them, home is a negative place they’d just soon forget.

Most of us are familiar with the song, “This World is Not My Home.”  It speaks of earth being a temporary dwelling place. The lyrics tell us of being called to our true home, heaven, and so we shouldn’t feel at home here on earth. I love the song because it’s forward thinking. It requires an eternal mindset. It requests that we lay our hope and faith in God for he has prepared a home for us there.

image

 

Jesus, on the night of his betrayal, comforts his disciples (including us) with the following words:

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. You know the way to the place where I am going”

(John 14:1-4)

Keep in mind that promise comes from Jesus himself. And on that day when he returns and you stand at the gates to heaven, you’ll probably hear me close by quietly say, “Ahhh…Home, Sweet, Home!

-Joe

3 thoughts on “Home, Sweet, Home!

  1. The True Light!

    So well written my friend! The gates of heaven will probably render me speechless, so I will most likely hear you say “Aww, home sweet home!”

    The True Light

  2. That is so true and Rich Mullins also has a song about this; his lyric is “If I stand let me stand on the promise that you will pull me through and if I weep let me weep as a man who is longing for his home” Great song and great post, check it out.

Leave a Reply

