There’s Light at the End of the Tunnel

I was speaking to a colleague the other day who is in her last year of teaching.  She’s retiring at the end of this school year and I could see the joy she had written all over her face.  I replied, “That’s great!  But there’s no light at the end of my tunnel just yet.”   I was of course referencing the fact that I’m only 38 so retirement is still a long way off and at times there seems no hope that I’ll ever get there.

imagesCA59MMXZ
There’s light at the end of the tunnel

Those already retired from the workforce would remind me of how fast it actually gets here.  And the same is true about the end of our lives.  The bible reminds us that our life is but a vapor.  What we view as a long, productive life is just a fraction of the time we’ll spend in eternity.  So truthfully, we can all see the light at the end of the tunnel.  Or at least we should.  It’s actually a matter of hope.

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see”

(Hebrews 11:1)

We should be constantly looking for the light of Christ and making every effort to get closer to that light.  And when the end comes and we will see him for who he really is, all will be revealed and we will have fellowship with him for eternity.  Now that’s a retirement plan I can look forward to!

-Joe

One thought on “There’s Light at the End of the Tunnel

  1. The True Light!

    I NEVER considered that I would retire. My expectation was that I’d “go,” head first, into some computer at work and that would be that!

    A medical condition forced me not only to retire, but to do so very early in years. No one can know his path in life, even when we make our plans so carefully. God has our lives planned…He also has the number of our days decided too.

    All we can do is to make the best of each day with which we are blessed. It’s a bit of a cliché, but it is so true!

    “TTL”

Leave a Reply

