Steadfast Love

image

 

Like many others, I was introduced to this passage through song. If you’ve been in the church for the last 20 years, you’ve probably heard this a time or two. It’s a beautiful song, sung using God’s word. And it’s quite comforting as well.

God’s love never falters: It never wanes, it never changes. Regardless of our condition, our place in life, he loves us with an unending love. Thank goodness for that because only God knows how bad I need it. It doesn’t matter if we’re close to him or if we’re far away. His love is always there.  He never tires of showing us mercy. Mistake after mistake, it doesn’t matter. He’s there waiting for us to come back to him.

Every day I draw breath, his love is there. Every day I sin, his love is still there. Every day I acknowledge him, his love is there. Every day I cry out in worship, his love is there.  How is that even possible?  His very nature is that of love (1 John 4:8).  He is patient, he is kind. He is not rude or self-seeking or easily angered. He forgets my wrongs. He loves the truth. He always protects, trusts, hopes, and perseveres. He never fails (1 Corinthians 13:4-8).

The Lord is all I need. When my life is going great, he’s all I need. When my world is crumbling around me, he’s all I need. When my soul cries out for sustenance, he’s all I need. He is my foundation, my hope, my rest.

-Joe

One thought on “Steadfast Love

Leave a Reply

