Guidance From God

PROVERBS VERSEWhat a beautiful passage from the word of God.  I love reading and meditating on these simple yet profound thoughts.  Every time I study this verse, I come into a better understanding of how I need to rely on the wisdom of God to direct my life.  Let’s analyze this passage together, learning and enjoying what God has to offer.

Trust in the Lord with all you heart.”  Sounds simple right?  Then why, at times, do I live as though it were hard?  So much of our relationship with God and his Son Jesus is about trust and faith.  Because we are human, held by the constraints of this world, it’s hard to trust at times.  It’s hard to let go, to give up the driver’s seat and allow God to be in charge.  We think we know better; that we’ve got it all figured out.  But God would have us to come to him for guidance.  “O Lord Almighty, blessed is the man who trusts in you” (Psalm 84:12).

“…and lean not on your own understanding.”  Boy do we think we’re smart!  And I suppose we are if we compare ourselves to other people.  We can look at the accomplishments of mankind throughout history and begin to feel quite confident in our ability to control our destinies.  But when we compare our wisdom to that of God, we’ll realize we come up short.  Again, our understanding and knowledge pales in comparison to God.  As the creator and director of our lives, his is in a much better position to grant us guidance.  “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord.  As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts” (Isaiah 55:8-9).

“…in all your ways acknowledge him.”  What does it mean to “acknowledge” God?  The definition of acknowledge is as follows: 1. To recognize the rights, authority, or status of.  2. To disclose knowledge of.  3. To express gratitude for.  4. To recognize as genuine or valid.  All this is to say that we must give the glory of our lives, our very existence to God.  In every action, every thought, every hope we must be willing to openly proclaim the One who is in control of it all.  “Whoever acknowledges me before men, I will also acknowledge him before my Father in heaven.  But whoever disowns me before men, I will disown him before my Father in heaven.

“…and He shall direct your paths.”  While I’m blessed with the sense of sight while many are not, I realize that without the guidance of God I might as well be walking in complete darkness.  So many times in my life, when left to my own vices, I’ve managed to walk right into trouble that I never would have found had I let God guide the way.  He doesn’t promise that the path will be easy or free of struggles.  What he does promise is that he’ll always be there.  “I will lead the blind by the ways they have not known, along unfamiliar paths I will guide them; I will turn the darkness into light before them and make the rough places smooth.  These are the things I will do; I will not forsake them” (Isaiah 42:16).

Let go.  Place your trust in God.  Give him the glory and praise he is due, and he will walk with you in this life and the next!

-Joe

Leave a Reply

