Walking in “Sonlight”

This summer I took a 3 day backpacking trip in Smoky Mountains National Park.  If you’ve never been there before, it’s a beautiful mountain range full of diverse plants and animals any hiker would love to see.  The name of these mountains is well-earned due to their hazy, smoky appearance.  And a lot of that is caused by the amount of rain the area gets.  During my trip, it rained steadily the first two days I was there.  The kind of slow, drizzling rain that the city of Seattle gets most of the winter.  Sometimes when it rains in the mountains, the temperature can plummet, even in the summer, and this was one such time.

Russell Field Shelter: Smoky Mountains National Park
Russell Field Shelter: Smoky Mountains National Park

By the time I arrived at my campsite the first night out, I was cold and soaked even with my rain gear on.  A funny thing happened though.  Inside I was warm and content, happy to be out in the woods enjoying the solitude and beauty of God’s creation.  There’s just something about being alone with Him while hiking in the mountains.  Regardless of the weather, I feel as if I’m walking in sunlight…or should I say “Sonlight.”

Smoky Mountains in Summer
Smoky Mountains in Summer

With the love of Jesus in my life, I have a peace and contentment I’ve been unable to find anywhere else.  With the light of Christ guiding me, life takes on a new meaning.  The world and its worries hold very little sway over my heart.  Instead, looking ahead, I see where my journey leads.  While hiking, my trek ends at a beautiful, scenic campsite.  But my walk with God will end in an entirely better place…an eternal home in heaven.

“I am the light of the world.  Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

(John 8:12)

Follow Jesus.  Walk in the “Sonlight.”  Your journey will never be the same!

-Joe

 

 

2 thoughts on “Walking in “Sonlight”

  1. ephesians413

    Wonderful post. I agree. For me, after a year of teaching and dealing with problems, a summertime camping trip with plenty of fresh air and hiking and gorgeous views always renews my spirit. The Great Smokey mountains sound like an inspiring destination.

Leave a Reply

