Does Your Marriage Glorify God?

Recently, my wife Keri and I were discussing our desire to glorify God through our marriage.  We’re supposed to glorify God in whatever we do right (1 Corinthians 10:31)?  So it’s reasonable to suggest that the most important interpersonal relationship we have on earth is the perfect means to display the gospel and glorify God.  In fact, people will always look to our marriages as a barometer of whether we practice what we preach.  I may be able to verbally praise God all day long, but the love and selflessness I show to my spouse speaks volumes, not only to her but to those watching us.

My family
My family

Sadly, our marriages sometimes present an ugly picture to the world.  It’s not hard to find statistics showing that the divorce rate among Christians is the same as nonbelievers.  If God is active in our lives and marriages, divorce should be nonexistent in the church.  If we choose to treat our spouses the way Christ treats us, the world would definitely take notice.

So much of the world’s problem with the church today is that there is virtually no visible difference in how Christians live their lives, including our marriages.  And quite frankly, it’s time for that to change.  In Philippians 2:14-15 we are told to, “do everything without complaining or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe.”  It is possible to stand out and be a light to a depraved generation through our marriages. It is our opportunity to fight against pride and selfishness.  It’s our privilege to demonstrate commitment, forgiveness and love.

When I love my wife as God meant me to, she carries that love over to others.  She has a certain glow about her, a confidence that reveals God to everyone she interacts with.  And when Keri shows me love and grace in return, I can’t help but stand a little taller.  My joy and happiness is a reflection of God in our lives.  I want our marriage to attract people to Christ and his message of redemption.  I want your marriage to do the same.

Let’s pray and encourage one another to glorify God through our marriages.  Use that relationship to work on patience and kindness, forgiveness and love.  Help your spouse live a holy and righteous life so you both may have a hope of an eternal residence in heaven.

-Joe

Leave a Reply

