Know God

Recently, I had a conversation with someone about how their adult children are no longer faithful to God. They were raised in a good home, given all they needed and quite a few wants along the way, but have still grown cold towards the church and God. I’ve wondered why many in the church today seem content with living a good life, attending church services once or twice a week, and learning about God.  And therein lies the problem.  Many people know “about” God but not many take the time to “know” Him. Many parents teach their children about God, but few live as if they really love Him.

Don't just know about God...know God!
Don’t just know about God…know God!

There is nothing more important in this whole world than knowing God. Knowing him is experiencing an intimate, daily relationship. It’s feeling God’s presence in us and through us every second of the day. This is what Jesus meant when he echoed the greatest command, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind” (Matthew 22:37). And we can only love him in this manner if we truly know him.

Paul is an excellent example of learning to know God. As Saul, he knew about God. He knew who Jesus was but he didn’t believe he was the Christ. He zealously persecuted the followers of the Way. He was not a foolish man. Paul was well-educated in the law. He spoke several languages and was a respected yet feared man. But somewhere along the way to Damascus, Paul came into the presence of Jesus. After that nothing else mattered. Paul spent the rest of his life learning to know God. He later wrote, “I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ and be found in him” (Philippians 3:8-9).

We have all been that Christian who knows their doctrine and theology. We know all the right things to say, the correct way to behave, but do we “know” God. The proof is in our lives. When we truly love someone, we can never get enough of them. We will take the time to get to know them, to learn who they really are on an intimate, transparent level. Likewise, it should be our lifelong pursuit to know God. While it is impossible to fully know Him while we are on earth, there is always more to God. He always has more wisdom to grant, more power to experience, more peace to receive, and more love to shower us with.

Knowing God is the highest form of affection we can show. Do you really know Jesus?  And if not, do you desire to do so?  Pray today that you will come into a greater knowledge and intimacy of God.

-Joe

6 thoughts on “Know God

    1. Joe Butler

      God seeks to know you and will love you regardless of your response. The reality is you can choose to know God now or know Him when it is too late. I pray that you will one day open your heart to Him and receive the love he has had for you for all time. God bless.

      1. The Inner Monkey

        I was trying to make a laugh, I guess you don’t find it funny, sorry bout that. I have so much experience talking to theists that I am not going to tell you something you are just going to deny. The fact that most religious people think “others can’t be right because I can never be wrong” is too difficult to change by reason. It is rooted in childhood indoctrination. I somehow struggled out of it. It was hard at first. Then I went back to religion and until I remembered all the knowledge I gathered while I went to college and my library days. The truth is we are both Atheists, if you don’t believe in Zeus just like me that is.

  1. Joe Butler

    That’s just the thing. I’m am wrong, wrong in so many ways. Without the love of God, I am nothing. When one begins to think outside of themselves, to understand that God can love them even though they are broken, to know that there is a greater purpose to our existence, then they will learn to know God and his saving grace.

    1. The Inner Monkey

      I admire your humility. There is probably no god, now stop worrying about greater purpose of life and assign your own purpose to life. I was also once like you friend, I used to think that God created life one Tuesday afternoon. Then I learned about The Origin of Life from the primordial soup and the evolution of species. But you are not going to accept any of these as evidence because you choose to believe in god and turn a blind eye toward the unearthed fossils or latest breakthroughs of science.

  2. Joe Butler

    I do understand where you are coming from with a need for physical evidences to support a belief in God. In fact, both belief systems require a certain level of faith to make the jump from our reality to what caused it all. Scientific and evolutionary evidence are very much in support of the biblical account of creation. My study of science has led to a strengthening of my faith, not a weakening. Again, my job is not to judge the heart or motives of those who deny the existence of God, but to love them in the same way that he loves me. I have a heartfelt belief that if those who claim the name “Christian” acted like one, the world would see God’s love through us. For my part, I will continue to examine myself daily to be sure I walk by faith and treat others the way I would like to be treated.

Leave a Reply

