I’m Not Worthy

Am I worthy?  The simple answer is an emphatic “No!”  There will never be a time in my life when I will count myself worthy of the grace of God I received through Jesus Christ. Never will I be good enough or holy enough to warrant the love from a righteous and perfect God. And yet that is exactly what he has given me. Through his gift of Jesus, God has given me far more than I could ever deserve or earn on my own.

image

 

In light of all of God’s goodness, there should still be some reaction on my part. Just because I cannot earn his favor doesn’t mean I still don’t try to show God all the love and goodness that I can. I now belong to him who saved me and I can show my gratitude by how I live and how I disciple others.

“As a prisoner for the Lord, then, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received. Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.”

(Ephesians 4:1-3)

Because I belong to my Lord, my life should reflect my love and commitment to him. I should portray my appreciation through a patient and humble attitude, seeking to love those around me the way Christ loves me. By unifying myself with God and his plan for the lost, I can affect the souls around me in a positive way for the glory of God.

In the end, I may not be worthy of God’s love, but he is most definitely worthy of mine.

-Joe

One thought on “I’m Not Worthy

Leave a Reply

