Counting the Cost

I’m cheap.  Maybe frugal might be a better word.  I enjoy getting things like most people but I just don’t like to waste money.  Actually, I hardly buy anything these days because truthfully, I already have all that I need (and a lot more than I need if I’m honest).  I’m one to count the cost.  If it’s not really worth it, I’m not buying.

Counting the Cost
Counting the Cost

But how often do we count the cost of carrying the name Christian?  In reality, we’re so far removed from the first century church spoke about in Acts, we don’t even know the costs of being a Christian anymore.  It’s more popular these days to preach about how God can bless us than it is to think about the costs associated with following and serving Him.

So what are the costs you might ask?  Well, there is no good answer for that question.  For some, much will be required.  You may forgo your time in order to serve the Kingdom.  Others may struggle through persecution and a loss of friendships.  People will have their families desert them over their faith while some may do without many of our material blessings in order to follow God.  Whatever the cost, we all must take up our cross daily and follow Christ.

“Then he said to them all:’If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.  For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will save it.  What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, and yet lose or forfeit his very self?”

(Luke 9:23-25)

(Also read: Matthew 7:13-23, 8:18-22, 10:16-39, 19:23-30, 25:31-46; Mark 13:9-13; Luke 6:20-49, 14:26-35, 18:18-30, 21:10-19; John 15:18-25, 16:1-4)

-Joe

Leave a Reply

