Why Me?

why me

Why me?  Why does God love me, a worthless sinner?  It’s a question I know the answer to.  There are so many verses in the Bible dealing with God’s love for me I can’t even reference them all.  But I still wonder why.  Like Paul in Romans 7, I am unspiritual, a slave to sin.  “I do not understand what I do.  For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.  For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out” (Romans 7:15, 18).  My mind seems to be filled with discontent and anxious thoughts that I cannot control and I feel worthless, unable to please those around me.

Sometimes, I lift my face to heaven and ask, “Why?  What do you see in me God?  How can you continue to show me love and grace when I make so many mistakes?”  And I hear his answer.  “You’re my child Joe.  I know you make mistakes.  I see them all.  Don’t worry, have faith……..I choose to love you.”

“The grace of our Lord was poured out on me abundantly, along with the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus.  Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners- of whom I am the worst.  But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his unlimited patience as an example for those who would believe on him and receive eternal life.”

(1 Timothy 1:14-16)

-Joe

Leave a Reply

