Safety

safetyOn a recent trip to Huntsville, Al. to visit my parents, I decided to take my daughter to a really fun indoor trampoline park.  I’ll say it simply since there’s no other way to put it.  This place was AWESOME!   I must admit that I’m just a big kid myself so I probably had more fun than my 8-year-old daughter.  For one hour, I bounced, jumped and flipped my way through this place like a kid on Christmas morning.

Now to be honest.  I’ve had my years of doing stunts and living dangerously. At 39 years of age you won’t catch me riding my skateboard off the roof of my house or doing double flips off a 10 foot diving board like I did when I was younger.  There’s just something about those younger years that breeds a little stupidity.

But in this trampoline park, I was brave again.  I was bouncing 10 feet in the air flipping and diving head first into the foam pit.  And that, of course, was exactly why I was so bold.  With foam to a depth of six feet breaking my fall, I had nothing to worry about.  I had a safety net so to speak so I felt comfortable letting go and having fun.

I can’t help but think of the disciples when they were first approached by Jesus.  “Come follow me,” he said, “and I’ll make you fishers of men.”  And what did they do?  They walked away from everything they had ever known to follow this Messiah.  Their job, their families, their security, their predictable Jewish life was left behind to learn from the Son of God.  Thank goodness they were bold enough because their example is alive for us today.  They show us that to truly follow Christ, one must be prepared to jump in head first and leave the safety net behind.

-Joe

 

Leave a Reply

