A.D.D.

image

 

I have A.D.D.  I do, really, but probably not the kind you’re thinking of. This realization came to me the other day as I was preparing for this school year. Every year I have students who suffer from A.D.D. as we know it medically. And while not making light of the real difficulties those students face in learning, I came to understand that I suffer from a different sort of A.D.D.- the spiritual kind.

You see, in this world, and especially with the affluence that we live in today, it is increasingly more difficult to stay focused on God. But that is not his will for our lives. We are told to “seek first his kingdom and his righteousness” (Matthew 6:33). We are to put our trust and faith in the God who has promised to meet all our needs. But our A.D.D. gets in the way. We lose our focus, our single-minded purpose of yielding to the will of God.

Just look at Jesus. Everything he did was in accordance to God’s plan. Was it all easy and comfortable?  No!  But Jesus said, “My food is to do the will of him who sent me and to finish his work” (John 4:34). If we’re to be like Jesus, we must surrender as he did. We must bring our minds and our hearts into an understanding of God (Romans 12:2).

We can beat our spiritual A.D.D. through faith and obedience. Because the God we serve is worthy of our undivided attention.

-Joe

4 thoughts on “A.D.D.

  1. The True Light!

    Hi Joe! I haven’t been able to connect with you through your old website and didn’t know about this one. Please send a reply so I can try to stay in touch with you and your work!

    Steve

    1. Joe Butler

      Hey. Thanks for checking out my blog. Glad you’re interested. Just doing my best to serve the Lord. I hope the posts are an encouragement.

      1. The True Light!

        There certainly are Joe. I haven’t been able to follow your page since you changed your WP site. I didn’t have a referral to any new site.

        Now I do, and I’ll want to keep in touch. Thanks for the reply…

        Steve

Leave a Reply

