A Time to Weep, A Time to Laugh

Bill Tipton
Bill Tipton

Here one minute… gone the next. My mind is trying to make sense of it all and my heart is overwhelmed with grief. A dear friend, Christian brother and mentor of mine passed away early this morning. Just writing those words still doesn’t make it seem real. And yet I know it is.

I know that when I go to church again, Papa Bill won’t be there to give me one of his warm hugs. I know that there will be a huge hole in the lives of all who knew him and loved him. As an elder of our church, Bill led and genuinely cared for the flock he watched over. In fact, Bill spent countless hours with me alone, reminding me of how God has blessed me and encouraging me to go into ministry full-time. He always took time to ask me and my family how we were doing and truly cared about my response.

I know there’s a time and a place for everything under the sun (Ecclesiastes 3:1). I know that I and many others will mourn the loss of a close friend. I know that his family will miss their father and their husband. And I know there’s nothing I can do to make this hurt go away.

So I’ll weep and I’ll laugh and I’ll smile at the thought of a life well-lived. Bill Tipton…. I love you. You will be missed more than you’ll ever know.

-Joe

One thought on “A Time to Weep, A Time to Laugh

Leave a Reply

