Consecrate Your Life

image

I was on a break yesterday at school. It was a teacher workday and since there were no students around who needed my attention, I was able to get a ton of work done. One of those jobs was cleaning my room a little. It’s usually pretty clean because I’m a little particular about that but still, fourth graders have the uncanny ability to make a mess and believe it’s someone else’s responsibility to clean. That someone else happens to be me.

So while picking up stray pencil shavings and scraps of paper, I was thinking about the cleaning going on in my own life. I wish I could say that the job is close to completion but it’s not. There is always something I could do better, always some sin I need to cleanse from my heart. The Bible calls that consecration and it’s something we should all do in our lives.

God wants us to be dedicated to him completely. In order to do that, we must cleanse our life, clean house if you will and purge the ungodly things from our thoughts and hearts. It may be difficult, but cutting away the excesses of the world will help us give all that we are and all that we have to God (Matthew 18:8-9). As the writer of Hebrews perfectly illustrated, “Let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith” (Hebrews 12:1-2).

So I encourage you to join me in repenting of past mistakes. Start fresh and seek God and be committed to consecrate your life for him.

-Joe

2 thoughts on “Consecrate Your Life

Leave a Reply

