Going Through the Motions

motion.jpgWho out there likes to be comfortable?  I know I sure do!  A life spent in nervous expectancy is not the life I would prefer to live.  In fact, if asked why I enjoy my marriage so much, I may respond, “Because it’s comfortable.”  If asked about my job, I would reply, “It’s familiar.”  There’s nothing wrong with maintaining a certain level of comfort, but we can easily fall into some of the traps that comfort brings.

In many areas of our lives, added comfort causes us to approach life with an attitude that’s too relaxed.  We can find ourselves going through the motions, blindly doing things because it’s what we’re used to.  And why not?  We humans like to find the place of optimum efficiency and reside there for as long as we can.

Danger occurs though when we begin to take for granted our situations in life.  If I become too comfortable, I can forget to show the appreciation that my wife so rightly deserves.  If I’m too content, I could find myself only doing enough at work to get by.  If I’m too relaxed, I could forget the amazing grace of God and not give Him my all.

But what if we lived as if each new day was a wonderful gift from God?  What if we stopped taking our spouses and children and friends and family and churches and jobs and health for granted?  What if instead of going through the motions, we looked for ways to give 100% in every area of our lives?  I think we all know the answers to those questions.  We would find that our relationships would be strengthened, our life would be joyful and our days would be filled with gratitude.  And I can’t think of any better way to glorify God than to live every second of our lives in thanksgiving.

 And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”

(Colossians 3:17)

-Joe

2 thoughts on “Going Through the Motions

    1. Joe Butler

      Absolutely. Gratitude is part of our stewardship. God has given us so much and we should live a life showing we are truly thankful for his kindness and provision.

Leave a Reply

