I Do!

i doDecember 8th, 2001.  I remember the day well and it’s one I’ll never forget.  It was the day I pledged myself to my wife and her alone.  The day I said, “I do!”  Our wedding day is one we rightly look forward to, one that should change our lives for the better.  Mine was no different than most.  A day filled with anxious excitement, a day surrounded by friends and family witnessing something very special.

When we say “I do” in marriage, we’re reordering our priorities around what’s best for our spouse.  We no longer think only of ourselves but begin to think as a team, a united front whose main goal is to learn and grow and enjoy one another.  God designed spouses to be helpers for one another, not in subjugation but with mutual respect and love.  And it should be the same in our relationship to God.

When we say “I do” to Jesus, we must order our lives around obedience and service.  We should seek to imitate our master and serve his purposes.  Just like in the marriage relationship (Ephesians 5:22-33), we are to show love and respect for Christ as our leader and we as his bride.  Often, though, that’s not the case.  We can’t just ask Jesus to bless our personal plans and then go our own way.  We are to change our plans to his plans, to be united with him and his purpose for our lives.

Saying “I do” in marriage is a lifelong lesson in humility.  It’s looking at that person you’ve given your life to and knowing that they have all of you, not just the part you’re willing to sacrifice.  And in our marriage to Christ, we must do the same.  When we say “I do,” we’ve made a commitment and it’s important that it is fulfilled.

-Joe

i do 2

5 thoughts on “I Do!

    1. Joe Butler

      Thank you and you definitely don’t have to remind me how lucky I am. “A wife of noble character who can find?” Well, I’ve absolutely found one and she has been my greatest blessing from God.

      1. The True Light!

        It sounds like she may be your very best friend as well as your wife! I’m glad you two are so happy. Do the things which will keep it that way, Joe…

      2. Joe Butler

        I’ve had good examples to follow. My two sets of grandparents have been married 72 and 64 years respectively. My parents for 42 years and my wife’s parents for 45 years so we’ve had great Christian marriages to emulate.

      3. The True Light!

        I had long-term marriages all around me growing up as well. My father passed away at 59 suddenly, but at that time he and my mom were married 37 years.

        Sadly, I didn’t have that kind of luck in my own marriages. But I’m making the best of the one I’m in now. It’s different when you get older…

        Best of everything to you and your lovely wife!

        Steve

Leave a Reply

