Ambassadors For Christ

ambassadorsI’ve found as an educator that my job encompasses far more than teaching school subjects such as reading or social studies.  I take far more pride in seeing a child learn integrity or perseverance than if they make an A on a reading test.  And inevitably, every school year I have to deal with a myriad of discipline problems that arise due to their lack of maturity.

One such situation happened just the other day when I sent a group of students to the library.  On their way, one boy decided to shove another into a mud puddle soaking his shoes and pants in the process.  I try to give as much leeway as possible to my students because I caused as much trouble when I was young as the kids I now teach.  This particular student received in school suspension for three days for this particular outbreak of stupidity.

What I tried to teach him though was that whether he liked it or not, his behavior reflected not only on himself but also on me even though I was not there.  When a teacher or another adult sees one of my students misbehave, it reflects poorly on the one who is teaching them.  And in a way, as Christians, the actions of some can build a bad reputation of the church and of Christ.

As a disciple of Jesus, we have a unique and very vital role to fill in our lifetimes.  He has tasked us with being a light to the world around us and to continue his gospel message to seek and help save the lost.  You may not want that job, but when you decided to follow Christ, you became an ambassador for him.

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!  All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation:  that God was reconciling the world to himself in Christ, not counting people’s sins against them. And he has committed to us the message of reconciliation.  We are therefore Christ’s ambassadors, as though God were making his appeal through us. We implore you on Christ’s behalf: Be reconciled to God.  God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.”

(2 Corinthians 5:17-21)

God makes his appeal to the lost through us and his word.  It’s our job to continue what Jesus started.  That is what the great commission is all about (Matthew 28:18-20).  How serious we take that command will help to determine whether his kingdom will grow in our lifetime.  It cannot be left up to your local preacher or elders.  It can’t only fall to the Bible scholars and Sunday school teachers to teach the gospel to the lost.

What do we say then?  Simple.  Share your testimony and his word.  Be his ambassador and he will bring the increase (1 Corinthians 3:6-7).

-Joe

8 thoughts on “Ambassadors For Christ

  1. just saying, if you pulled the puddle dipper aside and said, don’t do that, he’d have gone away thinking, thanks, and possibly been annoyed with himself, just an opinion, Jesus hung out with all sorts, blessings

    1. Joe Butler

      What I failed to mention in the post was that this was the student’s 5th time in trouble that week before going to the office. Jesus hung out with all sorts, no doubt, but he also warned them to sin no more. If we are to represent God in a manner that shows respect for his authority, then we would be wise to understand that a lack of obedience will be met with appropriate consequences. God bless and thanks for visiting faith and footsteps.

  2. What a convicting story. Am I representing Jesus well? I pray that I am. I often see myself as the servant of a Great King. And each day, I simply go about my King’s business. I hope I represent Him well in all His affairs.

    1. Joe Butler

      Thanks for visiting faith and footsteps. I also love to remind myself that I serve a risen King. With that in mind, I try to tell myself daily that what I do and how I live affects his kingdom and how it is perceived. It’s so important for us to remember that God does ask obedience from us but doesn’t make it difficult to follow through. In fact, he said he would take care of everything as long as we’re willing to hand over our lives to him.

  3. The True Light!

    Short but to the point, Joe. We can speak volumes about our Lord by way of our words, but also in our actions. There are many ways to “spread the gospel!” Thanks for the encouragement…

    Steve

    1. Joe Butler

      Thanks Steve. We all have ways in our life that we represent those around us. I represent my school by the job I do in the classroom. I represent my marriage by my behavior when my wife is not around. The way my child behaves at school is a reflection of how she was raised at home. And the love we show the world and God speaks volumes about how important God really is in our lives. If we say he really matters, then our actions should definitely show it. God bless.

      1. The True Light!

        I can’t add a thing to this reply, and I couldn’t agree with it more so! Take care, God love and keep you and yours, and enjoy your evening!

        Steve

Leave a Reply

