Forsaken

forsaken“At the sixth hour darkness came over the whole land until the ninth hour.  And at the ninth hour Jesus cried out in a loud voice, ‘Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani?’- which means, ‘My God, My, God, why have you forsaken me?'”

(Matthew 27:45-46)

I can’t imagine.

I simply can’t imagine how Jesus must have felt at that very moment.  He had come to this earth as a man, made himself nothing in the eyes of the world and was obedient to God, even when it led to his cruel death (Philippians 2:6-8).  He had been whipped, beaten, insulted, spat upon and even deserted.  The mocking, the nails, the blood, the pain, the desperate attempt to breathe while hanging from a cross.  We normally look at these and think that Jesus’ suffering was unimaginable.  But the physical pain still pales in comparison to being forsaken by God.

Jesus had to take on the sins of the world, past, present and future (1 Peter 2:24).  And because God cannot look at evil and sin (Habakkuk 1:13), he turned his back on Jesus’ final cries from the cross.  Jesus had to die there alone and there’s no words to describe how lost he would have felt.  He had an intimate relationship with the Father and they had loved each other forever.  It was a perfect love and Jesus is having that perfect love and intimacy taken away.

But why?

Why would a loving God come to earth as a man and allow his own creation to destroy him?  That’s just it!  He is a loving God, more loving than my brain can comprehend.  Jesus was forsaken so we wouldn’t have to be.  It makes me want to scream at the top of my lungs unending praise to his holy name.

“I will proclaim the name of the Lord.  Oh praise the greatness of our God!”

(Deuteronomy 32:3)

-Joe

7 thoughts on “Forsaken

    1. Joe Butler

      Hey no problem. And glad to hear from you. I always enjoy reading your writing on facebook as well. I’ll give Emma and Keri a big hug for you. 🙂

  1. Just what I needed to hear this morning. I’ve been studying the Scripture and thinking the same thing. You really solidified my thoughts this morning about Jesus being forsaken on the cross. Sometimes we feel forsaken (even though that’s not the case) and we can take courage because Jesus can relate to us. Thank you.

    1. Joe Butler

      Thank you for your response and encouragement. I tried to convey (although I’m sure poorly) the utter agony that Jesus felt physically but also spiritually. He had to have known what it would mean to take on the sins of the world and therefore be separated from the love of the Father, but he did it anyway. I simply cannot comprehend the loneliness he would of felt and all I can do in response is worship.

    1. Joe Butler

      Thanks again Steve. I’ve just been meditating on the sacrifice Jesus has personally made for me and what my response to that should be. I know when we take communion each Lord’s day we are reminded of the suffering and embarrassment he felt on that cross but being forsaken by God seems so much worse. I just want my life to resemble a spirit who is humbled by that great sacrifice and one who is willing to give his life in return to say thanks.

      1. The True Light!

        If it is in your head that way, Joe, it is in your heart too. Therefore, your life will reflect the way you feel. We recall the sacrifice made on the cross each Sunday and we know how much it took for the “human” side of the Lord to go through such a thing as that. But as the “God” side of Him knew, He had to do this in order to please His Father and save our souls. Such love is so hard to show full appreciation for…

        Enjoy your weekend and thanks for your thoughts, Joe!

        Steve

Leave a Reply

