Ordinary Doing the Extraordinary

ordinaryI’ve always found it a little odd the way we humans tend to worship the fame and accomplishments of certain people.  I can understand the admiration someone may have for a great leader like Abraham Lincoln or a famous artist such as Albert Bierstadt.  I’ve never understood, though, why we hold in such high regard those in the Hollywood set because they’ve appeared in a few movies or a famous musician because their song is part of the latest dance craze.

Today, we desire to worship the extraordinary in people and wish we could be like them.  If only I was talented like that musician or had athletic ability like that football player or money like that movie star then I would have it made.  Sometimes people will beat themselves up because they feel ordinary by comparison.  They feel like the things they do and the resources they have come up short somehow.  And sadly, this attitude can creep over in our spiritual walk with God.

Only super Christians can used by God right?  “I’m no Peter or Paul” we’ll say.  I’ve never done great things for the kingdom.  “I’ll never speak like Francis Chan or Billy Graham” we’ll declare.  I’ll never be able to bring that many souls to Christ.  That’s exactly what Satan wants you to believe.  He wants us to constantly compare ourselves to others so we’ll either act better than we really are or act defeated because we feel we haven’t done enough.

We need look no further than the Bible itself to see that God uses the ordinary to do the extraordinary.  The apostles were ordinary and uneducated men with no formal religious training and Jesus was able to use them to spread the gospel (Acts 4:13).  David was a simple shepherd boy who put his faith in God and went on to become a great leader.  The truth is, God has blessed each and every one of us with individual gifts and talents that were meant to be used for his glory.  Your sphere of influence may be big or it may be small but it can be used to serve God in ways more powerful than you can imagine.

In the end, we must be strong in the knowledge that earthly glory, fame and recognition is a fleeting pursuit.  The achievements and popularity we deem important in this life matter very little in comparison to the furthering of God’s kingdom.  Rather than seek after what will fade, let us pursue the glory that we’ve been promised to receive from God.

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.  For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters.  And those he predestined, he also called; those he called, he also justified; those he justified, he also glorified.”

(Romans 8:28-30)

-Joe

6 thoughts on “Ordinary Doing the Extraordinary

    1. Joe Butler

      Thank you and thanks also for visiting the site. I hope you can enjoy the other lessons I’ve learned from God’s word. Have a blessed day.

  1. North American society encourages such a celebrity culture. Unfortunately, it creeps into Christianity too. I can easily compare myself to others to my own detriment. I have to constantly remind myself that I just have to be me. And God wants me to be me and will empower me to be me. And like you said, the glory should only go to Him at the end of the day.

    1. Joe Butler

      I definitely agree. I’ve never been one to make a big deal about the rich and famous. I know some get star struck and there’s nothing really wrong with being a fan of someone’s work , but it’s amazing how much allegiance some give to another human being and how little they give to Jesus. I love the me God created me to be and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I don’t need to be like someone else to feel validated or important. God loves me and my family and friends do as well and I just try to stay as genuine as possible. It’s hard to stay focused on that sometimes, but when I remove what I want and give the glory to God in all things, I can help show others God’s proper place in my life…..FIRST PLACE!

  2. ebonyandcrows

    Social media promotes this agenda aggressively–competing with the highlight reel of everyones life that is flaunted on social media platforms. It’s exhausting. We as humans are built for worship and I find that the age of exposure today is a breeding ground for narcissism.

    1. Joe Butler

      Thank you for your comment and excellent insight. I too am not a huge fan of social media. In fact, I finally just opened my first Facebook account within the last few months so I could get my blog posts out to a larger readership in hopes that I could minister to more people. It’s interesting to see the “look at me” mentality that so many adopt on a platform such as Facebook and you are definitely right that it has bred a form of narcissism we’ve never seen before. As John the Baptist said of Jesus, “He must increase, but I must decrease” (John 3:30).

Leave a Reply

