Clothed in Christ

clothes.jpgClosets full of clothes and shoes.

Yes, I said closets as in plural.  Now I can explain.  A lot of my clothes were free when I worked in the golf business.  But it’s true.  I have far more clothes and shoes than I have need for.

Isn’t it interesting that we think we have need for all that stuff?  For the ladies, you just have to have the right heels to go with that dress or the right boots to pair with your favorite pair of jeans.  For me, I want my suits tailored just right and my ties to match my shirts all so I might cut a nice figure in public.  And who said I had to dress a certain way anyway?  Who said I had to wear a suit and tie to church?  (I’ll save my thoughts on attire in worship for another post.)  All of that hard work getting clothed properly to impress our friends, to make ourselves feel better and to draw the attention of the person who could probably care less about who we are or what we’re wearing.

Thank goodness God doesn’t care about our choice of attire.  Setting the topic of modesty aside, God doesn’t necessarily focus on our outward appearance.  In a way, he doesn’t see me at all.  That is to say that when God looks at me or any other Christian, he doesn’t see the sinful me or the sinful you.  When Jesus died on that cross, his shed blood covers our sins.  I am clothed in Christ and my life is hidden with him (Colossians 3:3).  God, instead of seeing my sin, sees the righteousness of my Savior Jesus (2 Corinthians 5:21).  Galatians 3:27 says, “For as many of you as were baptized into Christ have put on Christ.”  It’s not until baptism that we come in contact with his saving blood and are clothed in Him (Romans 6:3-4).

And what beautiful clothing it is!  The most expensive wardrobe in the world cannot come close to matching the grandeur of the garment of the perfect and holy Christ covering us.  That’s clothing worth bragging about.

-Joe

Leave a Reply

