I Am Nothing So That He Might Be All

nothingI’m not famous.  Far from it actually.  Sure, I have friends and family that know me well.  Being a male elementary teacher makes me reasonably well-known in the community and school where I teach.  But I’ve never received any public notoriety.  I’ve never had any 15 minutes of fame.  And that’s just fine with me.

Jesus, in a worldly sense, did have some semblance of fame.  During the three or so years of his public ministry, Jesus had hundreds if not thousands of people hear him speak, who knew him by name and even were willing to believe in him and follow him.  Yet through it all, Jesus knew who he was and humbled himself to actively serve mankind.  A well-known example is found in the 13th chapter of John.  Jesus, “laid aside his outer garments, and taking a towel, tied it around his waist.  Then he poured water into a basin and began to wash the disciple’s feet and to wipe them with the towel that was wrapped around him” (John 13:4-5).  He later says, “Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet.  I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you”  (John 13:14-15).

What’s amazing here was the humility that Jesus showed did not demean him.  He willingly set aside his ability to become prideful so he could serve those whom he would save.  He tried to teach that we must be humble in order to truly know him.  Jesus cannot affect the person who has it all figured out already.  He cannot be the Lord of someone who has no need for God.  That’s why he reminds us that those who are meek and poor in spirit will see the kingdom of heaven (Matthew 5:3,5).

So I make this declaration:

I choose to be nothing so that He might be all.  It is for the glory of God that I want to live.  I put my trust in his promises and my hope in his love.  I will reside in his strength and find comfort in his mercy.

 For all those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.”

(Luke 14:11)

-Joe

Leave a Reply

