Great is Your Faithfulness

greatHow are you at second chances?

Both giving and receiving.

We love receiving second chances.  And if you’re like me, it’s more like second, third, fourth and fifth chances.  I’ll admit, I stumble.  A lot!  I need those extra chances to get things right sometimes.  Don’t we all?  We’re always in need of an added measure of grace and mercy.

But even though we are aware of our own shortcomings, we tend not to grant the same consideration to others.  I, at least, find that I don’t always extend mercy in the same measure that was extended to me.  I want to hold others to a higher standard than I myself want to be held.  It’s not too hard to see how this way of living is completely unfair and incompatible with God and doesn’t show others around me the love and respect they deserve.

Thank God that our Heavenly Father offers extra chances and extends mercy far beyond what we could ever deserve.  We can take great comfort in the knowledge that our God is faithful and that his love can never be defeated.

“The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases,

his mercies never come to an end;

they are new every morning;

great is your faithfulness.

‘The Lord is my portion,’ says my soul,

‘therefore I will hope in him.'”

(Lamentations 3:22-24)

Think about a time when you received a second chance, especially a time when you didn’t deserve it.  How did it feel?  Didn’t it give you hope?  Didn’t it make you feel loved?  That is exactly what God does for you every day.  Every day that you draw breath, you’ve been given another chance, another day to walk in the steps of Jesus.  One more day to serve him, to praise him, to thank him for his never-ending mercy and love.  Don’t take it for granted.  Thank you Lord for great is your faithfulness!

(If you will, use the comment section to tell me how God has given you a second chance.  Use your testimony to thank him for his mercy and love.)

-Joe

2 thoughts on “Great is Your Faithfulness

  1. This post comes at a great time for me…..at a time when I need to offer a second chance to someone who perhaps does not deserve it. We have a brother who is currently causing great anxiety to our family. I have been shown grace by God more times than I can count and now have the opportunity to show grace to my brother (and hopefully ‘practice what I preach’ among some non believing family members). May this will be a testimony to my faithfulness to Him and encourage others to show grace as well.

    1. Joe Butler

      Thank you so much for sharing. I’ve found that different situations require a different measure of grace each time. You’re right about reminding ourselves about the many chances that God has given us even when we didn’t deserve them. I’ve always been concerned about whether the act of being merciful would make my life even more stressful, but I’m working on putting my faith in God that he will help me get through the situation. And amazingly, he always does!

Leave a Reply

