I Can Only Imagine

lightDo you ever stop and think what it will be like?  I mean really imagine that day you’ll first see heaven.  I know we have a valiant attempt by John in the book of Revelation as to what heaven will be like.  And since Revelation is inspired scripture like the rest of the Bible, we know that the images described within are exactly what God meant to be recorded.

Yet, I still can’t help but imagine that it will be far greater than anything my simple mind can cook up.  And while most Christians tend to focus on the beauty of heaven, the jewels and light and singing, my mind is drawn to the idea that I will finally get to see God in person.  I guess my surroundings, while exquisite, will fall by the wayside when I catch a glimpse of my Savior Jesus seated at the right hand of God.  Like the song “I Can Only Imagine” by Mercy Me, I can’t fathom how I’ll respond.

I guess in the end, I’ll feel a warm comfort wash over me as I realize that I’ve finally made it home.  A home spent in the presence and glory of my God forever.

“I can only imagine what it will be like

When I walk by your side.

I can only imagine what my eyes will see

When your face is before me.

I can only imagine.

Surrounded by your glory

What will my heart feel?

Will I dance for you Jesus

Or in awe of you be still?

Will I stand in your presence

Or to my knees will I fall?

Will I sing Hallelujah

Will I be able to speak at all?

I can only imagine.

I can only imagine when that day comes

And I find myself standing in the Son.

I can only imagine when all I will do

Is forever, forever worship you.

I can only imagine.”

(Mercy me)

-Joe

2 thoughts on “I Can Only Imagine

  1. Beautiful post! Whenever I hear people begin to imagine what heaven LOOKS like I always think… but Jesus will be there. Jesus will be there. Jesus will be there.

Leave a Reply

