Meet Them Head On

head onIt’s been a while since I’ve read the story.  And what a powerful story it is!  It’s full of difficulty and trust and faith and a great example of how to face our own challenges in life.  It’s the story of David and Goliath.

Found in 1 Samuel chapter 17, the story begins with the Philistine armies gathering together to destroy the Israelites.  Their champion fighter Goliath stood amongst their ranks breathing out angry challenges across the valley and pretty much scaring the Israelite army to death.  I can’t blame them for being scared.

It’s hard to look fear and difficulty in the eyes and stand your ground.  Maybe you have your own Goliath in your life right now.  Maybe your “giant” is rearing its ugly head, taunting you with rejection or anxiety.  Maybe he whispers in your ear reminding you of your failures and encouraging you to stay bitter or to give up.  Your giant could be an addiction, apathy or anger.  Whatever it is, it mocks you and crushes your spirit.

How do you face those challenges?  Do you run away or look for excuses?  Do you procrastinate or do you meet them head on?  Have you stood in the face of your “giant” and decided you’ve had enough?  Well that’s exactly what happened with Goliath once David came on the scene.  Instead of running away, David issued his own challenge in return.  David said to the Philistine, “You come to me with a sword and with a spear and with a javelin, but I come to you in the name of the Lord of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied.  This day the Lord will deliver you into my hand, and I will strike you down and cut off your head. And I will give the dead bodies of the host of the Philistines this day to the birds of the air and to the wild beasts of the earth, that all the earth may know that there is a God in Israel,  and that all this assembly may know that the Lord saves not with sword and spear. For the battle is the Lord‘s, and he will give you into our hand” (1 Samuel 17:45-47). 

Wow, what a response!  Here was David, obviously outmatched or so it may seem.  And yet, he decides to stand up to this giant.  But how?  How does one have that kind of strength and bravery during what seems to be impossible odds?  The answer is simple.  God!  David doesn’t place his faith in his own abilities.  He puts his faith where it belongs.  David runs quickly to meet Goliath because he knows God will deliver his enemy into his hands (1 Samuel 17:48, 46).  And that’s exactly what happens.  David and the Israelites defeat and destroy Goliath and his Philistine army.  They are victorious and it’s all due to the help of God.

The time will come when your “giant” will make his move against you and the response is very simple.  Either you run away and hide or you can meet them head on.  When times get tough, when defeat is all but inevitable, when there seems to be no way out, just remember…

The battle belongs to the Lord (1 Samuel 17:47)!

-Joe

4 thoughts on “Meet Them Head On

  1. I have had my own David and Goliath battle against my mental health problems from the age of 7. I had anorexia at the age of 7, bulimia and OCD (which started because of PTSD) from 13 then clinical depression then drug addiction and alcoholism. In particular my recent battle, which I found prayer really helped me with, was when I had a nervous breakdown at the end of 2013 and started doing crazy OCD checking rituals 10 hours a day till 5am in the morning. By this time I was 9 years clean and had also overcome bulimia and self-harm. But the OCD set me right back to a state where my mental health problems were completely controlling my life. I prayed every day and found it helped. I’m having a bit of a crisis of faith at the moment and don’t know where I am with God. But prayer has certainly helped me with my addictions and mental health problems in the past.

    1. Joe Butler

      Thank you for sharing the intimate details of your struggles. I, at least, have personally found that by sharing trials with others it brings me into a new strength and understanding. I hope and pray that you will continue to find the wisdom and strength you need to fight against the “giants” in your life. It’s when we meet them head on that we are able to at least cope better with the difficulties we face in this life. I wish I could just pray away all of your worries and fears in regards to the problems you’ve faced. Our times of trial do build perseverance and give us a testimony to others about how to get through the dark times of life. So while I will keep you in my prayers, I will ask God to bless you with peace in your times of turmoil. I will ask him to give you wisdom to learn something powerful from your hardships and I will ask him to take away the things that seem to weigh your faith down. I know it’s easy for me to say and much harder for you to do, but continue to look to God for guidance. Continue to pray to him for comfort and ask that he remove these troubles that are holding you back. He is faithful and does hear your appeal.
      -Joe

  2. What a great reminder of God’s power in the face of our weakness. Thank you for this post, and may it encourage us all to trust God with every detail of life. The battle belongs to the Lord!! Amen.

Leave a Reply

