Work in Progress

work in progressI have a 64 mile round trip drive to work every day.  I know it’s not as long as some but it has its stresses.  In the 32 miles going to work, I pass no less than 3 major road projects.  One is a road resurfacing, one is a new flyover for a major highway, and the other is a new bridge project over a river.  As you can imagine, my time on the road going to and from work can put a strain on my patience on even the best of days.  Add in the influx of tourists who come to my part of Florida for vacation and it creates the perfect storm for a driving induced ulcer.

While waiting for some heavy equipment to move out of the way the other day, I found myself mentally asking why this work seemed to always be in progress.  The construction crews appear no closer to finishing than they did 6 months ago.  And then it hit me.  That’s exactly what our lives are like….A work in progress.  I’m always learning, growing, facing new challenges.  And during that work, God is molding me into the man I should be.

Galatians 2:20 tells us, “I have been crucified with Christ.  It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me.  And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”  If you are in Christ, then Christ is already in you (2 Corinthians 5:17).  He is ready to work to change you from your heart outward.  “And we all….are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another.  For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit” (2 Corinthians 3:18).

Since we all are a work in progress under God’s guidance, we must decide whether or not we will submit to repairs.  Just like when the old asphalt of a highway must be scraped away before the new roadway is laid down, the Spirit of God must remove the old parts of our lives.  Just like the foundations of a new bridge, the Spirit places foundations of love and patience and peace in our hearts.  The work is not always easy.  Sometimes it’s uncomfortable, even painful at times, but the work is necessary if we are to be transformed (Romans 12:2).

Allow God into your heart where he does his best work.  Let the great physician repair and rebuild you from the inside out, making you into the likeness of Jesus so you may be presentable, holy and clean before his eyes.  It’s a work in progress, but it is a beautiful work indeed.

-Joe

4 thoughts on “Work in Progress

Leave a Reply

