Made Flawless

flawlessI like to workout.  I’m not a gung-ho meathead or anything but I do like to keep in shape.  According to my wife, I don’t need to workout at all.  She thinks I look perfect just the way I am.  But I’m like most people.  I see flaws in myself that others don’t necessarily see.  In a way, we all do that.  Even the most confident person usually has a minor dissatisfaction with something about themselves.

These insecurities are made all the more worse by the society in which we live.  It’s hard to be secure when the media and our peers tell us how to behave and look.  I’m a very independent person, but I even get caught up in the desire to improve myself for a watching world.

One thing is for sure.  I know that one day I will be made flawless by the blood and glory of Christ Jesus.  2 Corinthians 3:18 says, “And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit.”  And again in 2 Corinthians 4:16 we are reminded that, “Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day.” 

It’s hard to imagine that we will one day share in our Lord’s glory and perfection but that is exactly what we are told.  When we put on Christ through baptism (Galatians 3:26-27), he renews us daily through the Holy Spirit that resides within us.  He takes the glory he was given by God and shares it with us.  Not just a portion or percentage of his perfection but He makes us flawless.

“Beloved, we are God’s children now, and what we will be has not yet appeared; but we know that when he appears we shall be like him, because we shall see him as he is.”

(1 John 3:2)

-Joe

Leave a Reply

