A Sinner in Need of a Savior

sinner.jpgI am a sinner!!!

There, I said it.  Why does that have to be so hard sometimes?  Why is it so difficult to admit that I don’t have all the answers?  Why does it seem impossible to give up control?  Actually, I know the answers to these questions and it’s a simple phrase….

I am a sinner in need of a Savior!

Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners- of whom I am the worst” (1 Timothy 1:15).  It’s important we all admit that.  It’s not just the murderer in need of a Savior.  It’s not just the rapist or the drug addict or the bank robber.

We ALL need a Savior!

Why?  Why do you and I need a Savior?  Jesus says, “I am the way and the truth and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through me” (John 14:6).  God loves us so much that he doesn’t want to see us lost due to our sin.  That’s why he sent his Son (John 3:16).  All have sinned (Romans 3:23) and are unable to save themselves of their own accord.  That’s where Jesus comes in.  He paid the price for our sin that we were meant to pay.  “There is salvation in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved” (Acts 4:12).

You may be asking, “What must I do to be saved?”  Excellent question and it’s been asked many times before (Acts 16:30).  The Bible is very clear about how to do this: faith plus obedience equals salvation (Acts 16:31-33, Matthew 7:21, Acts 2:38, Romans 6:16-18, Acts 22:16).  If, by faith, we confess Jesus as Lord, repent of our sins and join Christ in baptism, we are granted the promise of salvation through Jesus.

I am a sinner in need of a Savior and thanks be to God, that Savior has come!

-Joe

3 thoughts on “A Sinner in Need of a Savior

  1. Yesterday, I wrote down two wrods to spur on a blog thought. It is still a work in progress, but it comes from the title of a Matthew West song – Grace Wins. I thought of that song when I read your post.

      1. Joe Butler

        I’m familiar with the song. I hear it on KLOVE a lot. And you’re right, this Grace we talk so much about is so big I can’t even wrap my mind around it. I’m just glad God saw fit to save me, a sinner.

Leave a Reply

