We Are His Hands and Feet

hands and feetJust about every day I’m reminded of how much I’m loved by God.  He always meets my needs through his blessings or the people He has put into my life.  This weekend was no exception.

My family and a large group of friends from our church all met up at a local state park to have a back to summer bash and celebrate the end of the school year.  It was a great day taking out kayaks, swimming and eating delicious food.  It was great, that is, until I decided to have a run on a wakeboard that one of our friends brought.  Long story short, I pulled something in my lower back and found myself barely able to move and quickly heading home.

My wife, bless her sweet heart, promptly began to take care of me.  She helped me unload the heavy stuff out of the car.  She helped me get settled in the shower, pulled back the bed, got me a heating pad and made sure I could rest comfortably.  Keri became my hands and feet, doing all the things I couldn’t and showing her love and concern for me.

Now I won’t argue that I’m well taken care of.  And in marriage, that’s the way it should be.  A husband and wife can and should constantly look for ways to serve one another and reinforce the lifelong commitment and love that they share.  That is why the Bible compares marriage with our relationship with God (Ephesians 5:22-33).  In the same way, we are to be on the lookout for ways we can serve and show love to God.  Those opportunities come every day during the many interactions we have with the people around us.  We are to be God’s hands and feet, using our resources to take care of the needs of others, his children, and using God’s word to bring them back to their Father.

“How then will they call on him in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in him of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone preaching?  And how are they to preach unless they are sent? As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the good news!” 

(Romans 10:14-15)

“Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves.  Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.”

(Philippians 2:3-4)

I’m sure I won’t be laid up with a bad back for too long.  Right now, Keri is using this occasion to bless me with her tender love and care.  And every day, I will have the chance to repay the favor to both her and God.

-Joe

2 thoughts on “We Are His Hands and Feet

Leave a Reply

