Someone’s at the Door

at the doorRecently, a new family moved in next door to me and it was quite an interesting occasion the first time I met their little boy.  He’s 7 years old and very talkative and sweet as can be, and he immediately wanted to be friends with my daughter.  Less than 24 hours after moving in, he wanted to play with Emma and proceeded to walk right in our front door completely unannounced.

As a parent, I would be alarmed to know if my child was waltzing right in the house of someone I barely even know, but this didn’t seem to phase this little boy.  He was too excited to knock.  He just wanted to spend time with a new friend.

Something similar happens at the door to our heart when Jesus comes knocking.  No, he doesn’t barge his way into your life unannounced.  He doesn’t force you to let him in and be his friend.  Rather, he patiently waits for us to invite him into our lives.

Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.

(Revelation 3:20)

Stop right now and listen.  Has there been a knock at the door?  Have you heard Jesus call out to you?  Are you intrigued by him and his life?  Do you want to know more about the love and forgiveness he so willingly offers?

Then go ahead and answer the call.  Welcome him into your heart and be willing to learn from him.  I guarantee, you’ll never regret welcoming this particular guest!

-Joe

2 thoughts on “Someone’s at the Door

  1. Great way to introduce Christ’s knock although your title gave it away. 🙂 I just knew where it would end up. He knocked and I sure answered and have never regretted it.

Leave a Reply

