When Will This End?

This life is not always rainbows and roses is it?  I’d like to convince myself that it is, but like everyone else, there are issues to deal with occasionally that require every ounce of patience I can muster and every drop of grace I can give.

One such situation recently has me testing the very depth of my ability to remain calm and composed in the face of what I refer to as a cesspool of drama.  I’ve never been one to enjoy living in these types of situations myself, and it’s all I can do sometimes to maintain some semblance of self-control even in the face of growing anger and bitterness.  Counting on the strength of the Holy Spirit in times like these is vital if I’m going to have the chance to carry these emotions and not sin because of them.  It’s a healthy reminder that Jesus too faced all the temptations we deal with in this life and was able to do it without sinning, and so I draw power from his example and pray daily for him to keep me secure.

What makes life difficult in times like these is when you sit aside watching helplessly while Satan wages these battles around you and it seems as if there is nothing you can do about it.  Anxiety is most easily caused when there is nothing you can do but view things crumbling around you and know that the only one left to rely on is God.  But God wants us to cast these cares on him (1 Peter 5:7).

And maybe that’s exactly what these situations are for.  For when the going gets tough and you’ve run out of options and God is still there watching your back, it gives an assurance and resilience that can be found nowhere else.  You see, God wants us to lay it all at his feet.  He wants us in times of trial to fall back into his arms and trust in his wisdom to see us through and to help us grow.  He wants complete surrender so that we really know that He is in control and in the end, that He wants the best for us.

-Joe

4 thoughts on “When Will This End?

    1. Joe Butler

      Thank you for those kind words. I know that the difficulties I face at times may pale in comparison to others but I do appreciate the support from everyone. There is so much power in prayer and I know God hears them and will lift me up.

  1. I prayed for you today, Joe. May God be pleased to use you as an example to others of what it means to trust God in the real world. May He bless you as He has blessed me through your blog. I love how you put it, “He wants us in times of trial to fall back into his arms and trust in his wisdom to see us through and to help us grow.” Oh those arms!
    May you be strengthened, encouraged, and know the wisdom from above. And may the solution to this problem in your life draw someone to the Savior.

    1. Joe Butler

      Thank you for the prayers. There is so much power in communal prayer for other Christians and I greatly appreciate your encouragement. I know that I have to surrender this to God but it is so hard sometimes when you’re used to handling things on your own. I sometimes rely too much on myself and not allow others into my circle to help when they could. I am sometimes discouraged when others think I’m being disingenuous or trying to grab attention, but that couldn’t be further from the truth. I just want to confess these difficulties and find hope that I would find strength.

Leave a Reply

