Why Worry When Worrying is Worthless?

worryWhy worry when worrying is worthless?

Ok.  I’m an elementary writing teacher and it was time for a little alliteration.  All kidding aside, worry is definitely something to worry about.  And rightly so considering all the many things in life that keep us distracted.  I worry about my students at school and I worry about my daughter at home.  I worry about the bills at times and our savings and whether or not I’ll ever get around to fulfilling some of my lifelong dreams.  And I know what you may be thinking.  “Just have faith and things will always work out.”  We all know such maxims may work for a season, but they don’t take away the real worries we have in our everyday life.

And yet, God asks us not to worry.  He tells us not to worry about our needs (Matthew 6:25-34) and he even commands us not to worry about death (Matthew 10:28).  So how can he expect us not to show concern when we face so many trials and difficulties in this life?

The answer lies in God’s omniscience, his ability to know exactly what we need.  He wants us to place our trust in him, to cast our anxieties on him because he cares for us (1 Peter 5:7).  He promises that if we seek him first, we have nothing to worry about (Matthew 6:33).

23 The steps of a man are established by the Lord,
    when he delights in his way;
24 though he fall, he shall not be cast headlong,
    for the Lord upholds his hand.

25 I have been young, and now am old,
    yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken
    or his children begging for bread.

(Psalm 37:23-25)

The key is to give God the worry and know that he takes care of the righteous.  Now, one more attempt at some alliteration:

With worry we won’t win, without worry we will prevail.

  Ok, so 9 out of 10 words isn’t too bad!

-Joe

 

4 thoughts on “Why Worry When Worrying is Worthless?

  1. AMEN!
    I used to worry all the time, now I’m free! I just give to God all my worries and then sit back and watch! Makes me realize how foolish I am at times.

    Keep up the GREAT work- those kids need you. You may be the only gospel they get to read!

    1. Joe Butler

      Thank you. My wife says the same thing about my work as an educator every time I get frustrated with the day-to-day grind. I work at a k-12 school and have been able to see my kids really grow over the years and I never hesitate to try to influence them for Christ.
      I’m so thankful that you are trusting God enough to give him your worries. It feels so good to just fall into the arms of our Lord and know that we are loved and well taken care of.
      God Bless!
      -Joe

Leave a Reply

