There’s No Place Like Home

homeI’ve had quite a few homes during my 40 years of living.  Actually, 11 homes to be exact.  My childhood homes, apartments in college, and my current family home all hold memories for me and they are places that I’ll never forget.  Home for me is such a comfortable place.  I’m sure that’s a product of my upbringing, but home has always been a calm  retreat to come to where I’m loved and well cared for.  Many of those happy memories are tied up in the places where we live and having that  comfortable place to just be you makes our lives that much more enjoyable.

I don’t know if or when I’ll ever move from our current house.  My family and I love where we live right now.  We enjoy our neighborhood, like the location, and it doesn’t hurt that the mortgage will be paid off in a couple of months.  Even though we have no plans to leave, I still have one more move to make and it will be the grandest of them all.  That move is our big move to heaven and it will be wonderful when that day comes.

Of all the homes I’ve ever lived in, only one was built brand new.  I can still remember my parents spending countless hours planning every detail from the carpet color to the kitchen cabinetry to the choice of landscaping.  It was a beautiful house that would be destroyed by Hurricane Andrew only 4 months after we moved in.  Not so with our heavenly home.  And what a home it will be!  Jesus, when comforting his disciples before his crucifixion, said,

“Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me.  In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also.”

(John 14:1-3)

A grand and magnificent home is being prepared for us by our Lord Jesus himself and no job loss or natural disaster can take it away.  As Jesus’ words reveal, he desires us to be there with him (John 14:3).  We will live in close intimacy with our God for the rest of eternity!

Do we look forward to this move (Philippians 1:23)?  Do we really set our mind on our heavenly home (Colossians 3:2)?  These are important questions to ask because many of us live as if we’re perfectly happy with this world.  I get it, I really do.  There’s so much to be happy with in this life that it can cloud our vision for the future.  We were made for this move into eternity.  God has set the desire for heaven within all of mankind (Ecclesiastes 3:11), but it’s up to us to decide to follow God.  A residence has been prepared but we decide whether we accept it or not.

There’s no need to pour over blueprints or meet with some overpaid interior decorator.  It’s not important to fret over the dimensions of every room or worry about the landscaping.  Jesus is taking care of all the details for us and has prepared our home to perfection.  I can’t wait to see the home waiting for me and I hope you can’t wait either.

”  One thing have I asked of the Lord,
    that will I seek after:
that I may dwell in the house of the Lord
    all the days of my life,
to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord
    and to inquire in his temple.”

(Psalm 27:4)

-Joe

7 thoughts on “There’s No Place Like Home

  1. Nice post. My home on this earth is my sanctuary where I can escape from the bad things in this world. BUT – that home in Heaven is what I am truly looking forward to. When each of us that love the Lord are ready to leave this earth – it will be with joy and anticipation of a magnificent place that awaits us. 🙂

    1. Joe Butler

      Well, I’ve paid ahead on it for years and now it’s finally paying off. Thank goodness because I will have a teenager on my hands soon.

Leave a Reply

