Where Do We Draw the Line?

beautyThe news has circulated for several days now, so I’m sure most of you have heard that Disney has decided to include a decidedly gay scene in their upcoming live action version of Beauty and the Beast (Article).  Not only that, but the actor playing the part and the director of the movie have both been outspoken over their pride of the inclusion of a gay scene (Article).  Because of this move, Christians across the religious landscape and of different doctrinal beliefs are calling for a boycott of all things Disney including their other companies like ABC and ESPN.

I understand the uproar.  My first inclination was to cry foul over just another example of immorality in our society and Disney’s ambivalence over the fact that they are primarily viewed as a company who promotes movies, programming, and theme park entertainment for children and families.  But I wanted to spend more time studying God’s word on this matter and not just rely on my very fallible opinions on things.  I hope you’ll read along and see that how we interact with the world around us, especially the lost and sinful of the world, helps determine our influence for Christ and his glory.

WHERE DO YOU DRAW THE LINE?

This question was asked by a friend of mine and it is a great question that I’m not sure I have the answer to.  Are Christians not supposed to patronize businesses that promote immoral behavior?  I suppose if that were so, I would not be using the services of a huge number of businesses out there because so many are outspoken against Christian morals these days.  Am I right to not attend church at any congregation knowing that there are probably people there who are actively sinning in their life?  Should every Christian that works for Disney or its other companies now quit their jobs because of the promotion of homosexuality in a new movie?  I daresay that would be disastrous and leave no one of influence who could continue to let their light shine for Jesus while at their place of employment.  I even have an extended family member who is a practicing homosexual living with her partner (they are legally married in the state of Washington).  Am I supposed to ostracize myself from her and lose any chance of ever planting seeds of Jesus’ grace and redemption in her life?

I guess the line is drawn when the immorality of others leads to temptation that I’m unable to withstand.  If spending time with someone who speaks with filthy language causes me to begin to speak in such a way, I may need to consider stepping away from that situation lest I fall into sin.  All I know is that God requires that we still live in a world full of sin and not be influenced by that world (1 John 2:15), but maintain a holy and righteous life worthy of the calling we’ve received (Ephesians 4:1).

Now back to the subject of Disney and its new movie.  We are sorely mistaken if we expect Hollywood, who has long been putting out movies of questionable immorality, to put out biblically accurate movies.  Even other movies and programming that Disney and its others companies have released have some examples of inappropriate sexual innuendo or language and violence.  1 Corinthians 6:12 reads, “Everything is permissible for me, but not everything is beneficial.”  A lot of what we do may be ok in the eyes of God, especially if our faith is strong, but it is not necessarily good for our hearts and souls.  Our rights do not supersede our responsibility to honor God with our choice of entertainment.  Finally, consider that we are encouraged to think on things that are pure, lovely, and admirable (Philippians 4:8), and that includes our choice of entertainment.

YOU CAN’T SEE A SPECK WITH A PLANK IN YOUR EYE

Have you ever stopped to wonder why Jesus spent so much time criticizing the religious elite of his day?  After further study of the religious and cultural environment of the day, we can see that the hypocritical attitude of the Pharisees is what aggravated Jesus the most.  They created such heavy burdens for the Jews to bear with their manmade traditions and rules that it was virtually impossible for anyone to maintain any semblance of holiness.  And it’s not like the religious leaders were helping people to grow.  They would sit back in their high position and criticize the behavior of others (Matthew 23:4).  What they failed to understand is, we can’t fulfill just the first part of the law of loving God and not fulfill the second part which is to love others (Matthew 23:23).  In order to truly show love to God, we must show love to his children as well, even if we disagree with the sin in their lives.  Today is the same.  Many in the church use their state of redemption to bash those in the world still living in sin.  They create such guilt and difficulty that I can completely understand why someone would never want to give Jesus and the gospel a try.  Like the Pharisees, we cannot just follow the law in regards to sin and forget the weightier matters of love and mercy.

Jesus said, “Judge not, that you be not judged.  For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you.  Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye?  Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye?  You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye” (Matthew 7:1-5).  This basically means that if we’re outspoken over the sins of unbelievers while minimizing our own sins, we are in the wrong and will be judged according to how we’re judging others.  It also means that we can’t be outspoken over certain sins that abhor us like homosexuality and then look past all of the very obvious sins of adultery, lying, and gossip that are all around us, even in the church.

And speaking of judging, we must be careful of that as well.  Paul, in 1 Corinthians 5:12-13, says, “For what have I to do with judging outsiders? Is it not those inside the church whom you are to judge?  God judges those outside.”  I liken this to a person working a job for a major company.  It’s not their responsibility to do the job of the CEO.  Instead, they are paid to do the tasks that they have been given.  Likewise, we Christians were given the job to be a light to the world around us, not to judge the worthiness of salvation for those who are living in disobedience to God.  What we don’t want to do is be like the Pharisee in Luke 18:9-14.  He sat there praying to God, all the while holding himself in high regard because he was such a good follower of the law.  He even openly bashed a tax collector nearby and was pleased with himself for not having that man’s dirty sins.  It was the tax collector who went home justified, “for everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted” (Luke 18:14).

WHAT WOULD JESUS DO?

Finally, I want us to think about what Jesus would do when dealing with situations like these.  We tend to think that our time is much more sinful than past generations, but that isn’t so.  There is nothing new under the sun (Ecclesiastes 1:9) and sins like murder, idolatry, and homosexuality existed in Jesus’ time as well.  Also, we can’t hold ourselves in high regard just because we’ve been saved by God’s redeeming grace.  There are others out there who need that redemption too.

So what would Jesus do?  Just take a look at the Bible and you’ll see that Jesus spent a lot of time with blatant sinners and it was always the religious who had a problem with it (Matthew 9:9-12, Luke 7:36-39, John 4:1-18, John 8:1-11).  I wonder, if Jesus felt it appropriate to minister to the adulterous woman at the well, or would sit down to a meal with tax collectors and sinners, or allow another sinful woman to anoint him with perfume and wash his feet with her tears, how would he want us to respond to others today?  Would he want Christians to hide behind the closed doors of their homes and churches and criticize the world from the pulpit or our Facebook pages?  Or would he want us to go out there amongst the world, spreading the message of the gospel to those who need it most?  But we must be cautious.  We shouldn’t justify spending time with sinners to evangelize them if our intent is to still keep one foot in the world.

There’s no doubt that we should be careful of the situations we put ourselves in and be careful of the people who are around us.  “Bad company (does) corrupt good character” (1 Corinthians 15:33) and can negatively influence us and cause us to succumb to sin.  We are not supposed to have anything to do with evil but rather expose it (Ephesians 5:11-14).  And yet we are also commanded to get into the world and make disciples of all men, teaching them to obey and fear God (Matthew 28:19-20), and the only way to do that is to befriend sinners and engage them in honest, genuine conversation about our concern for their souls.  We’re not to sit there and give them a guilt trip over their obvious and maybe not so obvious sins.  Instead, we are to love them the way God first loved us.

-Joe

18 thoughts on “Where Do We Draw the Line?

  1. I read every word of this post and I totally agree with everything you are saying. Very good job of explaining this situation – with a lot of scripture to back up what you are trying to convey.

    1. Joe Butler

      Sorry it was so long. I try to keep my posts to a readable 500-600 words or so. I just felt it was necessary that I address this very important topic because it’s been much on my heart having a 10 year old who wanted to go see the movie. I know Christians battle in their hearts over how to deal with these very real issues of sin in the world. We are obviously not supposed to put ourselves in a situation that would lead to our own sin, but we also are called to be light and salt to a dying world around us. I just personally believe we can’t go to the extreme and disassociate from unbelievers because we should love others the way God loves them and want them to be saved. It’s tough when it’s a choice of entertainment because that is time and money I don’t have to spend on something immoral. But if we’re talking about a very real person, someone with a soul like that family member I mentioned in the post, then we must show mercy and love them but still be honest about their sin being wrong.

      Thank you so much for reading. I really do appreciate all the positive feedback you give me on various posts. God bless.
      -Joe

      1. Yes, if your post gets too long people will not read everything. I read your posts from beginning to end, because I can see that you understand the Bible very well. I do not know what church you attend, but I attend the Church of Christ. Keep posting about God’s word – you have a gift for writing.

      2. Joe Butler

        I attend a congregation of the church of Christ as well. My family and I attend Niceville church of Christ in Niceville, Florida. My parents raised me in the church and I was baptized at 10 so I’ve been a Christian now for 30 years. Part of why I love to write this blog so much is that it gives me more time to study the Bible and learn more about who God is and what he wants me to do with my life. I really do appreciate the encouragement you give me and thank you for reading.

        You’ll have to let me know where you attend worship so if I’m ever in the area I could maybe visit the services.

        -Joe

      3. Airportloop Church of Christ in Searcy, Arkansas. My brother became a Church of Christ preacher and taught me about the church. When I was young I attended the Baptist Church. You are younger than me – but women do not devulge their age. Lol

      4. Joe Butler

        I’ll have to ask my preacher where he’s from because he’s from Arkansas but I’m not sure where or what congregation he attended growing up.

      5. Joe Butler

        His name is Joe Palmer and I asked him if he ever lived near you. He said he grew up near Monette. He did say a couple we know by the name of Larry and Billie Jean live near you so maybe they attend the same church.

      6. Monette is about 150 miles away in the Northeast corner of the state. I live in the center of the state. Do not know Joe or Larry and Billy. We have a lot of congregations of the church in this state. Thanks for the information – who knows I may meet Larry and Billy some day.

  2. How timely this post was. I belong to a Bible study of retired women and we can get into quite a few I heavy discussions! We had just been discussing about many of these same topics and the sometimes difficulty stepping into the world versus the comfort of our Bible based Church. Thank you for another thought provoking post. I always appreciate the scripture that you use to back up your thoughts.

    1. Joe Butler

      Thank you for reading. When a friend of mine proposed the question, “Where do you draw the line?” I told her that I wanted to do some more study and would write a blog post about the topic since it was really relevant. I know some people will be comfortable to stay away from that movie or other companies that promote immorality and that’s ok if that is how their conscience feels. I probably won’t see the movie either, but I wanted to write about the topic to make sure that people know that the Bible teaches that we must engage the world if we’re ever to have a chance to teach the gospel.

  3. ephesians413

    Everyone can do as their conscience dictates. Demanding boycotts does seem both futile and counterproductive. Who would we decide not to boycott?! However, my conscience dictates that I will not be handing over my money to Disney for this movie.

  4. Joe, thanks for such a balanced and scriptural response to a question posed by many today. As Jesus prayed, we are not to be taken out of this world, yet neither are we to live by it (John 17:14-17). You teach us to live out His prayer for us! Keep writing – you have a gift, brother! Blessings from a kindred community in California!

  5. Pingback: March 2017: Around the Web |

    1. Joe Butler

      Thank you for reading and for commenting. I found it hard to write this post knowing how sensitive everyone seems to be these days regarding homosexuality. I’m of the mindset that God’s word is what it is and it hasn’t changed, so why should we try to mold it to today’s standards of morality. With respect to our choices of entertainment, I just didn’t like the fact that Disney would allow a director to purposefully put references to homosexuality so he could advance his own personal agenda. I guess that’s prevalent in lot of areas so I shouldn’t be surprised. It’s just becoming more and more difficult to raise my daughter in a world so arrogant and hateful towards Christians.

Leave a Reply

