Monday Motivation: You see Damaged Goods, He Sees Perfection

Well, it finally happened.  About a year ago, after owning my vehicle for 9 years, someone decided to offer me the kind gesture of running into my parked car when I wasn’t around and leave without saying anything.  I can’t begin to tell you how I felt when I walked up and saw the fiberglass and reflectors of my rear bumper cracked and dented.  I’ve got to be honest and say that I thought of a few choice words I wanted to say to the offender, but they left me without the opportunity and a broken bumper and angry feelings instead.

It’s been over a year later, and I still don’t have the damage fixed.  Without a way to settle with someone else’s insurance company, I decided it wasn’t worth the cost to pay and get it fixed.  The car’s paid off and drives fine so I let it be.  But the fact is, the damage is still there.  There’s no getting around noticing it.

Now you may see yourself that way… as damaged goods.  But when we give our lives to Christ, God sees perfection.  Our sin stains us.  It makes us dirty and unworthy of being in the presence of a perfect God.  But when we are in Christ, we are clothed with him (Galatians 3:27) and God only sees Jesus’ perfection covering us.

We see broken, He sees beautiful.

We see something beyond repair, He sees something made brand new.

We feel guilt, He promises redemption.

The truth is, we are all of those things.  We are damaged, we are broken, we are guilty.  But the perfection of our Savior covers all of those flaws.  The truth is, we are God’s, and he loves us very much.

-Joe

2 thoughts on “Monday Motivation: You see Damaged Goods, He Sees Perfection

    1. Joe Butler

      Thank you. With all of our focus on our imperfections, I’m so grateful that God sees Jesus instead of me. And we’re promised that when he returns, we will be made in his likeness. That’s such a wonderful thing to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

